“Over Hyped Books”

oh

I have been so much mislead by the hype of some books that I no longer read books based on their hype. I will be making a list of why I find under hyped books are sometimes way better than over hyped books and honestly one of my favorite books are the ones that never got any recognition. Also the reason of some books not to meet the expectations is the hype they get before their release or during their release. If I talk about myself, I start expecting so much from those books that when I finally read them, I don’t find them as good as I previously thought they were going to be. Especially it happens with dystopian or Sci Fi books. In future, I will be making a list of over hyped and under hyped books but this post is going to be about over hyped books only. These are not necessarily my reviews for these books. I might post the reviews in future but right now these are only the reasons of not liking these books as much as I anticipated liking them. So without further ado, let’s get started.

  1. Red Queen By Victoria Aveyard

When this book first came out, almost everyone on booktube and goodreads was talking about it. I bought this book immediately and read it after 3-4 months because of my busy schedule. I was expecting so much and everyone was talking about the “plot twist” in this book. For me, the plot twist was quite predictable. Also the general idea or this book was quite generic because I feel like almost every Sci Fi, Fantasy or Dystopian book these days has almost the identical main lead and plot. So this was a let down for me.

2. The Crown By Keira Cass

I have already talked about this series in one of my previous posts. I really liked the first three books in Selection Series regardless of the characters but The Heir and The Crown I believe are unnecessary installments in this whole series. When these books first came out I read some of the goodreads reviews and judging from them the books seemed quite good but when I read them I was highly disappointed. For this, I don’t think the hype was a complete reason of why I couldn’t like the books but partly the characters were also the reason why I just couldn’t bear with them.

3. The 5th Wave By Rick Yancey

This book is really good. I actually enjoyed reading it and the plot was actually read good too. I read this book in 2015 when the news of its movie adaptation came out. Everyone was talking about this book and honestly I was pretty intrigued with it as well. But I don’t think the book was as good as everyone was saying. I really liked the idea of multiple POVs. I liked how it portrayed the siblings bond but to be honest I just couldn’t develop any feelings towards the characters. For a time being, I did think that I really liked the characters of Cassie, Evan and Ben but now that I think about it, the characters were pretty much like every other YA novel. There was nothing special or new about the characters. For me the characters were really basic (not that it is a bad thing but the characters were almost exactly like every other YA book) but the plot really had the potential. I still haven’t read the other books in this series but I’m definitely going to read them in future.

4. Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

When I first found out about Colleen Hoover’s books I felt like she was going to be my most favorite author (I only read the blurbs of her books at that time). The thing with NA books is that the characters are always over the top. They’re too perfect, either in looks or personality. This makes it really hard for a reader to connect with them. You can have crush on these characters but you can never feel connection with them. I do believe that Colleen Hoover does bring potential story lines in her books and for some part the book made me emotional but at the end I don’t believe that this book is as great as I thought it was going to be. For a time being, I also fangirled over Miles Archer character but as you grow up you start to see that the book needs to have more than a pretty perfect boy in it. Same is the case with Hopeless which is why I’m not including this book in this post but yes I do think that Hopeless was also overhyped for me.

5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

When this book came out, almost every other person was talking about it. At first I was reluctant of reading it because the title felt too cheesy (even for me) but then I gave in and read it. I’m going to be honest, when I read it I was a teenager and for me the ‘cutesy’ thing which was going on in this book was enough to like it but now that I think about it I realize that the book consists of bunch of dumb characters, with stupid life choices and it actually promotes cheating! This book really infuriates me not because of the plot (I mean also because of it) but because why I liked it at the first place. I actually prefer the second book in this trilogy, “Lola and the Boy next door” simply because the main character was more relate-able and less dumb than the previous book. I still haven’t read Isla and the Happily Every After and I have no plans of reading it in the future as well.

6. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I do think this book is overhyped. I really liked reading it but I just couldn’t develop the empathy I anticipated for it. The idea of this book is really good but the characters are ‘eh’ for me. Also the way this book ended really felt like a rush to me. I’m not saying that it should have had more pages or the writer should have dragged the story I just felt like I couldn’t accept the ending or I didn’t get the closure I wanted from this book. The second book in duology has also come out but I’m pretty sure that I will never read it.

7. Anne Henry by Dawn Ius

OH MY GOD! This book was the biggest let down of 2016 for me. I was so anticipating this book because I’m really interested in the history of Henry the 8th and Anne Boleyn and I kind of knew that this book would fail to meet the expectations because of the whole high school drama but still I couldn’t wait to get it and when I started reading it, at first I thought hey it’s just the starting it will get better but it kept getting worse and I had to DNF it after putting up with it for 60 pages.

So these were the books which were overhyped for me by booktube, goodreads or any other social media. Comment down below, which book you think is overhyped?

Also this post is not a mean to offend anyone.

 

Leave a Reply

